Running Data DeDuplication on Hyper-V Hosts with PowerShell

First off, I want to thank Johan Arwidmark for the core code used in my script.  His blog posting can be found here.

Disk space is tight on my development VM host, very tight.  You cannot get too many VMs running on just 256GB.  So, I decided I’d make the switch to running Hyper-V on Server 2012 R2 and take advantage of Data DeDuplication.  Johan speaks highly of it, so I thought I would give it a try.

On my 2 hosts I have 8 VMs running on each and after DeDuplication I have plenty of disk space for more.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words….

DeDupe_01b

I have 8 virtual machines in this folder.  With DeDupe I am able to store 270GB of VMs in less than 6GB of space.

I put together this script to process the drive.  It automatically shuts down any running VMs, processes the DeDuplication and then starts the VMs that it shut down back up.

# Shut down all running VMs and then process deduplication
$AllVMs = Get-VM | Where {$_.State -eq 'Running'}

FOREACH ($VM in $AllVMs)
 {
 Write-Host Shutting down $VM.Name
 Stop-VM -Name $VM.Name
 }

# Execute the Dedupe jobs
Start-DedupJob -Type Optimization -Memory 75 -Priority High -Volume D: -Wait
Start-DedupJob -Type GarbageCollection -Full -Memory 75 -Priority High -Volume D: -Wait
Start-DedupJob -Type Scrubbing -Full -Memory 75 -Priority High -Volume D: -Wait

# Restart the VMs that had been running
FOREACH ($VM in $AllVMs)
 {
 Write-Host Starting up $VM.Name
 Start-VM -Name $VM.Name
 }

When disk space starts to get a little cramped I run this script. I give it some time to run and when it is finished I have the space I need.

Posted on April 21, 2015, in Handy to Have, Hyper-V, PowerShell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

